Home -> National Institute Of Technology -> Nit Durgapur

The National Institute of Technology, Durgapur (formerly Regional Engineering College, Durgapur), was established by an Act of Parliament in 1960 as one of the eight such colleges aimed to function as a pace setter for engineering education in the country and to foster national integration.It is a fully-funded premier Technological Institution of the Government of India and is administered by an autonomous Board of Governors.

The Institute is a University which awards B.Tech., M.C.A., M.Sc., M.B.A.,M.Tech. and Ph.D. degrees to students after their successful completion of the specified courses. The Institute imparts education in the disciplines of Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Computer Science and Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Electronics and Communication Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Metallurgical and Materials Engineering,Information Technology, Biotechnology, Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Environmental science, Materials Science and Management Studies.
As decided by the Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India, the procedure for selection of candidates for admission to the Bachelor Degree Courses in Engineering/Technology in National Institute of Technology Durgapur and in other NITs is on the basis of State Rank/ All India Rank (AIR) of AIEEE conducted by Central Board of Secondary Education, New Delhi, and the same is executed through counselling by Central Counselling Board, AIEEE under guidance from MHRD, GOI as per schedule notified by CCB. In addition to the normal intake, a few seats are reserved for Foreign Students who are nominated by the Ministry of External Affairs, Government of India, and the Indian Council for Cultural Relations, Government of India.

The highest body in the administrative setup of the Institute is the Board of Governors which is headed by the eminent scientist and educationist Prof. Bikash Sinha, the former Director of VECC and Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics. The Board has representatives from the State and Central Governments, the University, All India Council of Technical Education, Indian Institute of Technology, the Industry and the Faculty of the Institute. The Director is the Head of Administration in the Institute.

Contact Us
 Institute Communication
National Institute of Technology 
Durgapur, West Bengal
PIN 713209

Prof. (Dr.) Tarkeshwar Kumar
Email: director@admin.nitdgp.ac.in
Phone: +91-343-2546397
Fax: +91-343-2547375

Brig. A. S. Nijjar 
Email: registrar@admin.nitdgp.ac.in
Phone: +91-343-2545290 (Office)
Fax: +91-343-2546406 (Fax)

 Deans & Associate Deans

Dean (Administration)
Prof. Aniruddha Gangopadhyay
Phone: +91-343-2754430
Mobile: +91-9434788033
Email: deanadmin@admin.nitdgp.ac.in

Dean (Academic)
Prof. D. K. Mondal
Phone: +91-343-2752012
Mobile: +91-9434788003
Email: deanac@admin.nitdgp.ac.in

Dean (Planning & Development)
Prof. J. P. Sarkar
Mobile : +91 - 9434788010
Phone: +91-343-2752011
Email: deanpd@admin.nitdgp.ac.in

Dean (Research & Consultancy)
Prof. P. Gupta
Phone: +91-343-2752016 (Office)
Email: deanresearch@admin.nitdgp.ac.in

Dean (Faculty Welfare)
Prof. G. Sanyal
Phone: +91-343-2754235
Mobile: +91-9434788006
Email: deanfaculty@admin.nitdgp.ac.in

Associate Dean (Academic)
Prof. N. K. Roy
Phone: +91-343-2754340
Mobile: +91-9434788042

Associate Dean (Research & Consultancy)
Prof. K. C. Ghanta
Phone: +91-343-2754080