Home -> Iit -> Iit Patna

Indian Institute of Technology Patna is one of the new IITs established by an act of parliament on August 06, 2008. It runs from its transit campus in Patliputra Colony, Patna

Patna which was known as Patliputra has been a center of knowledge since long has been attracting visitors and scholars from many parts of the world such as China, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Sri Lanka, among others. This has been a land of visionaries. Some of the historical legends from this region include Lord Gautam Buddha, Lord Mahavir, Guru Gobind Singh, the famous astronomer Aryabhata and the first President of India, Dr. Rajendra Prasad.

IIT Patna has three schools (1) School of Engineering consisting of the following Departments namely, Computer Science & Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Chemical and Biochemical Engineering, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Materials Science & Engineering (2) School of Basic Sciences consisting of Chemistry, Physics, and Mathematics Departments (3) School of Humanities consisting of Humanities & Social Science Department.

The transit campus of IIT Patna is located on the campus of Navin Government Polytechnic in Patliputra Colony Patna. The institute is approximately seven kilometers away from the Patna Junction and eight kilometers from the Loknayak Jai Prakash Narayan Airport Patna. The permanent campus of the Institute is coming up at Bihta which is approximately 34 kms from Patna.

Address     :     Navin Government Polytechnic Campus, Patliputra Colony, Patna 800 013
Telephone     :     +91-612-2552067
Fax     :     +91-612- 2277383
Email     :     iitpatnaoff@iitp.ac.in