Home -> Science Colleges In Assam -> B Baruah College

B. Borooah College was established in the year 1943 in the name of Bholanath Borooah, a doyen of Assamese business and a close associate of Sahityarathi Lakshminath Bezbaruah .
It grew under the shadow of World War II and as a part of the nationalistic struggle against foreign rule. Classes (evening) started from 13th of September 1943 with 15 students in the premises of Kamrup Academy H.S. School.
The pioneers of the college first started it as a night college in order to give an opportunity to the poor students to pursue their higher studies as they earned their livelihood during the day.
The college has been associated with the names of many illustrious personalities. Bharat Ratna Gopinath Bordoloi, the first Chief Minister of Assam, was the first honorary Principal of the college. Charismatic Parliamentarian and a renowned man of letters, Hem Barua adorned the Principalís chair for a long time. He was succeeded by Prof. Surendra Mohan Das, Dr. Promod Chandra Bhattacharya, Late Prasanna Kumar Sarma, Sri Dulal Chandra Borthakur, Sri H. C. Deka, Late D. K. Choudhury (in charge), Smti Bonti Choudhury (in-charge), Dr. (Mrs) Rekha Deka, Dr. Sunil Pawan Baruah (in-charge), Mrs Madhurima Das Deka (in-charge), Dr. Dinesh Baishya. At present Dr. Satyendra Nath Barman is serving as the Principal of this college.

Dr. Bhubaneswar Barua Rd,
Assam 781007
Phone: 098642 68319